Wikipedia e-mail address confirmation (duh, it’s a phishing scheme)

1

Posted by Mr Spamalicious | Posted in Gone Phishing Spam - Identity Theft, Bogus Errors, and Fake Warnings | Posted on 07-01-2010

A new angle on the old “confirm your account” phishing scam. This one goes to cruzdealba.es/wiki.html before taking you to the ever popular Canadian Pharmacy at pullkeep.com

Someone from the IP address 93.84.75.95 has registered the account “clay” with this e-mail address on the English Wikipedia.

To confirm that this user account really does belong to you and to activate e-mail features on Wikipedia, please open this URL in your browser:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special:ConfirmEmail/2157xu7717ww72240b6mb10190o60216

If you did not recently register for Wikipedia (or if you registered with a different e-mail address),

click the following link to cancel the confirmation:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special:Invalidateemail/1157je4251pd46810u0dj23981o29482

This confirmation e-mail will automatically expire at Thu, 1 Jul 2010 15:12:52 +0200

~Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

http://en.wikipedia.org

VN:F [1.8.7_1070]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
Wikipedia e-mail address confirmation (duh, it's a phishing scheme)5.051

Comments (1)

I’ve just got a variation that sends to the same address.
It comes as an email failure notification with the headers attached in a .html file
If you open it up it sends you to comforttx.com which redirects to pullkeep.com

UN:F [1.8.7_1070]
Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)

Write a comment