Posted by Mr Spamalicious | Posted in Computer Virus Spam - Open the Attachment or Follow a Link to Get Infected by a Trojan, Get Rich Quick Spam - Work at Home Schemes, Online Businesses and Other Scams for the Unemployed and Desperate | Posted on 03-22-2010
Totally makes sense. They checked out my graphic design portfolio and said, “Hey, this guy looks like he’d be perfect for our USA sales rep position, after all, graphic design is just like selling steel!” Which of course is totally off base as I only deal with crude oil and cotton in my spare time. Never steel or iron.
BTW, if you click on their URL it will try to install a Trojan virus.It appears their website has been hacked.
ASA Steel Structures Limited Brick Kiln Lane Parkhouse Industrial Estate West Newcastle-under-Lyme Staffordshire ST5 7EF Tel: +44-7031885189 Fax: +44-7031885189 Website: http://www.asasteelstructures.co.uk Email: stevenmason@asasteelsstructures.co.uk Good Day, This is an official request for sales representatives on behalf of ASA Steel Structures Ltd. We are searching for reliable representatives,after a careful review of your Company profile as well as your qualification and experience we are of the opinion that you are capable and qualified, we will be glad in employing your services to work as sales representatives on our behalf for goods and raw materials we supplied to our customers in North America. we got your contact information from the online directory as a result of our search for a reliable firm or individual. Note in each payment you receive on our behalf from any of our customers you will be entitled to deduct 20% (Twenty Percent) as your profit the quest for accountability and probity has been our drive in dealing with our representatives and customers. On behalf of ASA Steel Structures Ltd, Please accept my sincerest appreciation in advance for your willingness to render your services as we look forward to your prompt response to our request. Sincerely, Mr. Steven Mason CEO/President ASA Steel Structures Limited


On March 26, 2010 we received the same email at our company; American Machine Tools Corp. It looked like spam but to be sure we googled it and found a warning on Spamdiary. Thank you for your website. It is a great way to remove doubts.
You’re welcome. I emailed ASA to warn them that their website has been hacked and spammers are using it to distribute a virus and as of 9am on march 26th their website is still corrupted. That’s four days later. Not smart.
We got the same thing around that time too. You just need to be wary.